Well-Rounded Course Access

Ensuring all students have access to a wide variety of courses

In partnership with the Indiana Department of Education (IDOE), IU has joined the Course Access Network to create a network of schools that will deliver 90 virtual courses aligned to Indiana Academic Standards that are designed and taught by certified Indiana teachers. The Well-Rounded Course Access (WRCA) Project will increase opportunities for students to take courses that are hard for schools to offer, including dual credit courses that meet pathway requirements and diversify educational offerings in traditional K-12 settings.

Our goal is to increase access to a wide variety of courses to all Hoosier students. 

Identify and support innovative teachers

Do you see an increase in the number of students who are interested in continuing to learn in a virtual environment? Do you also have a teacher who embraces technology and likes to imagine innovative ways to educate their students? Are teachers interested in developing engaging online courses?

Courses offered

By 2025, there will be 90 courses available in the WRCA catalog. See the current list below of courses offered. Contact Elizabeth Wright (eliaruss@iu.edu), IU High School Online principal, if you want to learn more about these courses, the project, or discuss course needs and help influence what courses get added to the WRCA course catalogue in the coming years.

Network of school partners

The program relies upon a partnership model – by sharing resources, every student in the state has equitable access to a well-rounded education. Students do not pay tuition to take the courses and the schools collaborate by sharing or identifying teachers. IU facilitates the process and works closely with the network of schools to develop and implement a model that is financially sustainable and equitable.

Schools in the network with teachers teaching or enrolling students as of Fall 2022: 

Blue River Valley School Corporation: Blue River Valley Jr-Sr High School; Liberty-Perry Community School Corporation: Wapahani High School; Northeastern Wayne School Corporation: Northeastern High School; Randolph Eastern School Corporation: Union City Jr-Sr High School; South Henry School Corporation: Tri Junior Senior High School; Franklin County Community Schools: Franklin County High School; Shoals Community School Corporation: Shoals Jr & Sr High School; Mitchell Community Schools: Mitchell High School; Orleans Community School District: Orleans Jr/Sr High School; Eastern Hancock County Community School Corporation: Eastern Hancock High School; Monroe Central Community Schools: Monroe Central Jr-Sr High School; Nettle Creek Schools; Shenandoah School Corporation: Shenandoah High School; Decatur County Community Schools: North Decatur Jr/Sr High School; Edinburgh Community School Corporation: Edinburgh HS/MS; IU High School; Mt. Vernon Community School Corporation: Mt. Vernon High School; South Putnam Community Schools: South Putnam High School; Oak Hill United School Corporation: Oak Hill High School; Springs Valley Community Schools: Springs Valley Jr-Sr High School; Northeast Dubois County School Corporation: Northeast Dubois Jr/Sr High School; Western School Corporation: Western High School; Hamilton Southeastern Schools: Hamilton Southeastern High School; Madison-Grant United School Corporation: Madison Grant Jr/Sr High School; Lawrence Township Metropolitan School District: Lawrence Central High School; Monroe County Community School Corporation: Bloomington High School North, Academy of Science and Entrepreneurship; Metropolitan School District of Warren Township: Warren Online Academy; South Bend Community School Corporation: Adams High School; Guerin Catholic High School; School City of Hammond: Eggers Middle School; Griffith Public Schools: Griffith Jr/Sr High School; Gary Community School Corporation: Beveridge Elementary; Benton Community School Corporation: Benton Central High School; Brownstown Central Community School Corporation: Brownstown Central High School; Suburban Christian School; Jac-Cen-Del Community Schools: Jac-Cen-Del Jr/Sr High School; Union-North United School Corporation: Laville Jr-Sr High School; Rooted School Indianapolis; Hope Academy Indianapolis; Wa-Nee Community Schools: Northwood High School; East Gibson School Corporation: Wood Memorial Middle School, Wood Memorial High School; Calumet Christian School; Sheridan Community Schools: Sheridan High School; Greater Clark County Schools: New Washington Middle/High School; South Newton School Corporation: South Newton High School; Loogootee Community School Corporation: Loogootee High School; Switzerland County School Corporation: Switzerland County High School; Western Wayne County Schools: Lincoln Middle/High School; Northwestern School Corporation: Northwestern High School; Flat Rock-Hawcreek School Corporation: Hauser Jr./Sr. High School. 

How do you benefit from WRCA?

  • Expand course offerings so your students have access to a well-rounded education without having to hire a full-time teacher to achieve this goal
  • Be part of a network that fosters collaboration to develop and monitor cost-share and cost-recovery models that are sustainable and equitable
  • Support and retain teachers who are innovative, thoughtful, and deeply committed to equitable access to a high-quality virtual education

  • Access to professional development and a stipend for creating a course offered through WRCA
  • Teach a WRCA course with students enrolled across the state of Indiana
  • Collaborate with other teachers, school leaders, community members, and field experts to re-imagine how we educate students now and in the future

  • Gain access to hard-to-offer courses that count toward credentials or degree requirements
  • Flexible schedules
  • Courses remain engaging, structured, and highly coordinated

School leaders and counselors

Reach out to Elizabeth Wright, WRCA Project Manager, at eliaruss@iu.edu


Students and parents

Contact your local school to see if they are part of the WRCA network!